Student Council officers elected

The new Student Council officers were just made official.

Ava Johnson poses by one of her campaign posters early in the Student Council campaign trail. Johnson was elected Student Council president today. (Jakalynn Edwards)

After the release of the candidate speeches and a day’s worth of voting, the new officers were selected and announced. Although students voted during WIN toward the beginning of the day, voting didn’t close until seventh hour. Principal Rodney Strutton made the announcement in the last 5 minutes of school.

The winners included President Ava Johnson, Vice President Amiya Williams, Secretary Aubrie Stratton, Treasurer Vivienne Albin and Reporter Kierney Holthaus.

Check out the follow-up story, which will be released Monday.

Be sure to check out the Student Council speeches in the video below.